Customer Service:
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 6 pm EST

ANSI Honors Distinguished Leaders during World Standards Week

Awardees Recognized at the 2019 Leadership and Service Awards Banquet Ceremony

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) congratulates award winners who were honored on November 6 at the 2019 ANSI Leadership and Service Awards Banquet and Ceremony.

"The work of the honorees represents a tremendous scope of impact and requires true commitment – a willingness to put in long hours, traveling for days or weeks at a time, to get the work done," said Russ Chaney, chair of the ANSI Board of Directors. "We pay tribute to the outstanding accomplishments of leaders in standards and conformance with the presentation of [these] awards."

The ceremony was held in conjunction with World Standards Week 2019 at the Fairmont Washington in Washington, DC. ANSI awarded the following distinguished awards:

Meritorious Service Awards

The following individuals received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. The awardees are:

  • Hae Choe, director of standards, AAMI
  • Jonathan Colby, director of technology performance, Verdant Power
  • Jessica Evans, director, standards development, NSF International
  • Eric Grulke, professor, department of chemical and materials engineering, University of Kentucky; director, Electron Microscope Center, College of Engineering
  • Robert Kretschmann, senior principal engineer, Rockwell Automation
  • Florence Otieno, director, international standards programs, Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
  • Peter Pondillo, senior standards manager, global technical and industry standards, Corning Incorporated
  • Evans Massey, manager, standards and certification, ABB Motors and Mechanical, Inc.
  • Angela Hight Walker, senior scientist and project leader, NIST
  • A joint team representing the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), Health Canada, and Procuraduria Federal del Consumidor (PROFECO) for collaborative efforts to align new product testing procedures among three national jurisdictions:
  • CPSC: Tilven Bernal, Randy Butturini, Robert Garrett, and Einstein Miller

  • Health Canada: Eric Bergevin, Stephen Drew, Tyler Goodier, Richard Hart,

  • Franco LaRiccia, and Martina Vorel

  • PROFECO: Agustin Adame, Carlos Cardenas, and Adriana Ruiz

Astin-Polk International Standards Medal

Renee Hancher, director, regulatory policies, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, received the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification.

Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal

Philip Wennblom, senior director of standards policy, Intel Corporation, received the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among bodies involved in global IT standardization.

Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal

Mark Earley, NFPA staff liaison to the National Electrical Code and chief electrical engineer, the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), received the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal, which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels.

Finegan Standards Medal

William Lawrence, vice president of operations and principal engineer, FM Approvals LLC, received the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the actual development and application of voluntary standards.

George S. Wham Leadership Medal

Captain Scott Colburn, director of standards and conformity assessment program at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Devices and Radiological Health, received the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation.

Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal

Paul Moliski, vice president of accreditation and Latin America electrical, Intertek, received the Gerald H. Ritterbusch Conformity Assessment Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting the understanding and application of conformity assessment methods as a means of providing confidence in standards compliance for the marketplace.

Howard Coonley Medal

Christian Dubay, vice president, codes and standards, and chief engineer, NFPA, received the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive who has benefitted the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool.

Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Research Medal

Lisa Carnahan and Amy Phelps, computer scientists, standards coordination office, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), received the newly created Maureen Breitenberg Conformity Assessment Research Medal for distinguished research in the field of conformity assessment. The award is named for the late Maureen Breitenberg, a valued leader and contributor to ANSI and the greater standards and conformity assessment community.

Next Generation Awards

The Next Generation Award is given to professionals who have been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who have, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to their chosen field of activity. The three awardees are:

  • Peter Bittner, senior standardization engineer, Constellium Rolled Products
  • Carrie Schmaus, marine energy analyst and interagency coordinator; Knauss Fellow/ORISE Fellow, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Paul Witherell, mechanical engineer, Engineering Laboratory, NIST

President's Award for Journalism

The Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI) Communications Staff received the President's Award for Journalism, which honors journalism that illuminates the role of standardization and conformity assessment activities in the global marketplace.

Workforce Development and Innovation Award

The National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators (NCCCO) received the newly created ANSI Workforce Development and Innovation Award, which recognizes accredited credentialing bodies that significantly impact workforce development in the United States.

ANSI congratulates the winners! Photos from the event are available on ANSI's Flickr page.


As the voice of the U.S. standards and conformity assessment system, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) empowers its members and constituents to strengthen the U.S. marketplace position in the global economy while helping to assure the safety and health of consumers and the protection of the environment.