Customer Service:
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 6 pm EST


ISO 11666:2010

Non-destructive testing of welds - Ultrasonic testing - Acceptance levels

ISO 11666:2010 specifies ultrasonic acceptance levels 2 and 3 for full penetration welded joints in ferritic steels, which correspond to ISO 5817 quality levels B and C. An acceptance level corresponding to ISO 5817 quality level D is not included in ISO 11666:2010 as ultrasonic testing is generally not requested for this weld quality.

These acceptance levels are applicable to testing carried out in accordance with ISO 17640.

ISO 11666:2010 applies to the examination of full penetration ferritic steel welds, with thicknesses from 8 mm to 100 mm. It can also be used for other types of welds, materials and thicknesses above 100 mm, provided the examinations have been performed with necessary consideration of the geometry and acoustic properties of the component, and an adequate sensitivity can be employed to enable the acceptance levels of ISO 11666:2010 to be applied. The nominal frequency of probes used in ISO 11666:2010 is between 2 MHz and 5 MHz unless attenuation or requirements for higher resolution call for other frequencies. The use of these acceptance levels in conjunction with frequencies outside this range needs to be considered carefully.

Content Provider
International Organization for Standardization [ISO]

Others Also Bought

ISO 17640:2010
Non-destructive testing of welds - Ultrasonic testing - Techniques, testing levels, and assessment
ISO 23278:2006
Non-destructive testing of welds - Magnetic particle testing of welds - Acceptance levels
ISO 17638:2003
Non-destructive testing of welds - Magnetic particle testing

As the voice of the U.S. standards and conformity assessment system, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) empowers its members and constituents to strengthen the U.S. marketplace position in the global economy while helping to assure the safety and health of consumers and the protection of the environment.