Customer Service:
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 6 pm EST

ISA: International Society of Automation

ISA, the International Society of Automation, is a nonprofit organization that develops and publishes standards guiding the field of industrial automation. Headquartered near Raleigh, United States, ISA standards are spread throughout the world by its 30,000 members, located in nearly 100 countries. In addition to developing ISA standards, ISA also runs two certification programs and provides a range of educational opportunities. Standards from ISA are available both individually, directly through the ANSI webstore, and as part of a Standards Subscription. If you or your organization are interested in easy, managed, online access to standards that can be shared, a Standards Subscription may be what you need - please contact us at: or 1-212-642-4980 or Request Proposal Price.

Below are ISA's best-selling standards. To find additional standards, please use the search bar above.

 Back to All Publishers Home

ANSI/ISA 12.12.01-2015

Nonincendive Electrical Equipment for Use in Class I and II, Division 2 and Class III, Divisions 1 and 2 Hazardous (Classified) Locations

The purpose of this standard is to provide minimum requirements for the design, construction, and marking of electrical equipment or parts of such equipment for use in Class I and Class II, Division 2 and Class III, Divisions 1 and 2 hazardous (classified) locations. This equipment, in normal operation, is not capable of causing ignition of the surrounding atmosphere under the conditions prescribed in this standard, although the equipment may contain electronic components used in an incendive circuit and may also have field wiring that is an incendive circuit. In addition, it is the intent of this document to establish uniformity in test methods for determining the suitability of the equipment and associated circuits and components as they relate to potential ignition of a specific flammable gas or vapour-in-air mixture, combustible dust, easily ignitible fibers, or flyings.

ANSI/ISA 18.2-2016

Management of Alarm Systems for the Process Industries

This standard specifies general principles and processes for the lifecycle management of alarm systems based on programmable electronic controller and computer-based human-machine interface (HMI) technology for facilities in the process industries. It covers all alarms presented to the operator through the control system, which includes alarms from basic process control systems, annunciator panels, packaged systems (e.g., fire and gas systems, and emergency response systems), and safety instrumented systems.

ANSI/ISA 101.01-2015

Human Machine Interfaces for Process Automation Systems

This standard addresses Human Machine Interfaces for equipment and automated processes. If the standard, recommended practices and methodology are followed, the result should enable the users to be more effective yielding improved safety, quality, productivity and reliability.

ANSI/ISA 12.12.03-2011

Standard for Portable Electronic Products Suitable for Use in Class I and II, Division 2, Class I Zone 2 and Class III, Division 1 and 2 Hazardous (Classified) Locations

This standard applies to both body-worn and hand-held portable electronic products for use in Class I and II, Division 2, Class I, Zone 2, and Class III, Division 1 and 2 Hazardous (Classified) Locations which are not available listed or labeled for hazardous (classified) locations.

ANSI/ISA 71.04-2013

Environmental Conditions for Process Measurement and Control Systems: Airborne Contaminants

This standard covers airborne contaminants and biological influences that affect industrial process measurement and control equipment, electronic office equipment, and data center and network equipment. Specific examples of electronic office equipment include: laptop computers, desktop computers, workstations, servers, data storage hardware, terminals, displays, laser and inkjet printers, copiers, and fax machines. Examples of data center equipment include: servers, switches, routers, displays, keyboards, data storage hardware, power distribution equipment, and climate control equipment such as heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning (HVAC). Some examples of networking equipment include telecommunications hardware, switches, and routers.

ANSI/ISA 5.1-2009

Instrumentation Symbols and Identification

This standard is intended to meet the different procedures of various users who need to identify and graphically depict measurement and control equipment and systems. These differences are recognized when they are consistent with the objectives of this standard, by providing alternative symbol and identification methods.

ANSI/ISA 12.27.01-2011

Requirements for Process Sealing Between Electrical Systems and Flammable or Combustible Process Fluids

This document provides specific requirements for process sealing between electrical systems and flammable or combustible process fluids where a failure could allow the migration of process fluids directly into the electrical system. This document contains requirements for construction and testing of single seal equipment, dual seal equipment, and add-on secondary seals.

ANSI/ISA 62443-4-1-2018

Security for industrial automation and control systems Part 4-1: Product security development life-cycle requirements

This part of ISA-62443 specifies process requirements for the secure development of products used in industrial automation and control systems. It defines a secure development life-cycle (SDL) for the purpose of developing and maintaining secure products. This life-cycle includes security requirements definition, secure design, secure implementation (including coding guidelines), verification and validation, defect management, patch management and product end-of-life. These requirements can be applied to new or existing processes for developing, maintaining and retiring hardware, software or firmware for new or existing products. These requirements apply to the developer and maintainer of the product, but not to the integrator or user of the product. A summary list of the requirements in this standard can be found in Annex B.

ANSI/ISA 62443-4-2-2018

Security for industrial automation and control systems, Part 4-2: Technical security requirements for IACS components

This document in the ISA 62443 series provides detailed technical control system component requirements (CRs) associated with the seven foundational requirements (FRs) described in ISA 62443 1 1 [1] including defining the requirements for control system capability security levels and their components, SL C(component).  As defined in ISA 62443 1 1 there are a total of seven Foundational Requirements (FRs): a) Identification and authentication control (IAC), b) Use control (UC), c) System integrity (SI), d) Data confidentiality (DC), e) Restricted data flow (RDF), f) Timely response to events (TRE), and g) Resource availability (RA). These seven FRs are the foundation for defining control system security capability levels. Defining security capability levels for the control system component is the goal and objective of this document as opposed to SL T or achieved SLs (SL A), which are out of scope. NOTE Refer to ISA 62443 2 1 [5] for an equivalent set of non-technical, program-related, capability requirements necessary for fully achieving a SL-T(control system). 


As the voice of the U.S. standards and conformity assessment system, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) empowers its members and constituents to strengthen the U.S. marketplace position in the global economy while helping to assure the safety and health of consumers and the protection of the environment.